3.1. Sync a folder from the web storage

With Documents 6, you can sync a folder with a web storage. Smart two-way syncing keeps files up-to-date on the iPad/iPhone and cloud storage at the same time. To set up the sync:

iPad

Connect to web storage. For this, tap the +Add button on the sidebar or go to Settings > Network > tap the ‘Add Account’ tab and authorize. Now, there are two ways to sync folder(s):

To sync a single folder, open the network account, find the necessary folder, tap the More button and sync  this folder.

You can also sync a folder once you open it:

  • Tap the network account to open it.
  • Navigate to the necessary folder and open it.
  • Tap Sync in the upper-right corner.
  • Tap Sync This Folder, and the progress bar will appear on the folder icon.

To sync multiple folders:

  • Tap the network account to open it.
  • Tap Select in the upper-right corner.
  • Select the necessary folders and tap Sync on the sidebar.

iPhone

Once connected to a web storage service, go to the Services tab > open the network account > navigate to the folder you'd like to sync. Now there are two ways to sync a folder:

To sync a single folder:

  • Tap the Services section and tap the network account.
  • Navigate to the chosen folder to sync with and open it. Swipe down from the top of the screen to reveal the Sync  button . Tap Sync This Folder, and the progress bar will appear on the folder icon.

To sync multiple folders:

  • Tap the Services section, and open the network account.
  • Tap Edit in the upper-right corner.
  • Select the necessary folders, and tap Sync in the bottom toolbar.

Note: The ‘Sync’ button will become active if you select the folders which have not been synced yet.

How does the 2-way sync work?

Once the sync process is complete, the full copy of the folder will be available in the Synced folders tab on the iPad and the Synced folders folder on the iPhone. All new files and modifications made within the synced folder will be synced automatically to the cloud storage server and vice versa. Automatic sync is enabled in PDF Expert settings by default.

Note: The data will sync automatically when the following conditions are met:

  • Your device is connected to the network.
  • The Documents app is running.
  • Automatic sync is enabled in settings.

If files are altered in a synced folder while the device is offline, changes will sync once the device is online, and the Documents app is launched.

Disabling automatic sync/Manual sync

Disabling automatic sync in Documents 6 settings allows syncing modifications to be made manually when needed. For this:

  • Go to Settings > Sync > Automatic Sync > select Disable.
  • Or open Synced folders tab > tap Select > select a folder > choose Pause sync.

To sync modifications manually, open the synced folder and Pull to sync or open Synced folders tab > Tap Select in the upper-right corner > select the folder > tap Sync now button (tap Resume sync to re-enable automatic sync for this folder). 

Deleting synced folders

When sync folders contain subfolders, the file structure looks like this: Documents app/ Synced folders tab/Folder you synced/Subfolders or files.

  • If Subfolders or files, which are located in the Folder you synced, are deleted, those subfolders or files will be removed from the Documents app and from the cloud storage.  
  • If you delete the Folder you synced at the root level of Synced folders tab, the local copy of the folder will be deleted from the app but the folder in the cloud will be left unchanged. 


This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful
Back