7.3. Sync a folder from web storage

With PDF Expert, you can sync a folder from web storage. Smart two-way syncing keeps your files up-to-date on your iPad/iPhone and cloud storage at the same time. To set up the sync:

iPad

Connect to your web storage. Tap the +Add button on the sidebar or go to Settings > Network > tap the ‘Add Account’ tab and authorize. Now, there are two ways to sync folder(s):

To sync a single folder:

Tap the network account, open it, find the necessary folder and tap the More (Three dots)  button , sync the folder. 

You can also sync a folder once you open it:

  • Tap the network account to open it.
  • Navigate to the folder you'd like to sync with and open it.
  • Tap Sync in the upper-right corner.
  • Tap Sync This Folder, and the progress bar will appear on the folder icon.

Sync a folder.PNG

To sync multiple folders:

  • Tap the network account to open it.
  • Tap Select in the upper-right corner.
  • Select the necessary folders and tap Sync on the sidebar.

IMG_0236.PNG


iPhone

Connect to a web storage: tap the Services  section Services.PNG in the bottom toolbar. Tap Add Account or go to Settings > Network > tap the ‘Add Account’ tab and authorize. Now there are two ways to sync folder(s):

To sync a single folder:

  • Tap the Services section and tap the network account.
  • Navigate to the folder you'd like to sync with and open it.
  • Swipe down from the top of the screen to reveal the Sync button.
  • Tap Sync This Folder, and the progress bar will appear on the folder icon.

To sync multiple folders:

  • Tap the Services section in the bottom toolbar and open the network account.
  • Tap Select in the upper-right corner.
  • Select the necessary folders, and tap Sync in the bottom toolbar.

Note: The Sync button will become active if you select folders which have not been synced yet.

How does the 2-way sync work?

Once the sync process is complete, the full copy of this folder will be available in the Synced folders tab on the iPad and the Synced folders folder on the iPhone. All new files and modifications made within the synced folder will be synced automatically to the cloud storage server and vice versa. Automatic sync is enabled in PDF Expert settings by default.

Note: Your data will sync automatically when the following conditions are met:

  • Your device is connected to the network.
  • PDF Expert is running.
  • Automatic sync is enabled in settings.

If you work with files in a synced folder while you are offline, changes will sync once you are online, and PDF Expert is launched.

Disabling automatic sync/Manual sync

You can disable automatic sync in PDF Expert settings to be able to sync modifications manually when you need that. For this, go to Settings > Sync > Automatic Sync > select Disabled or you can open Synced folders tab > tap Select > select a folder > choose Pause sync.

There are three ways to sync modifications made in synced folders manually after disabling automatic sync:

  • Open the synced folder and Pull to sync.
  • Open Synced folders tab > Tap Select in the upper-right corner > select the folder > tap Sync now button;
  • Open Synced folders tab > Tap Select > select the folder > Tap the More (three dots) button, and then Sync now.

Deleting synced folders

When you sync folders that contain subfolders, your file structure looks like this: PDF Expert/ Synced folders tab/Folder you synced/Subfolders or files.

  • If you delete Subfolders or files which are located in the Folder you synced, those subfolders or files will be removed from the PDF Expert app and from the cloud storage.  
  • If you delete the Folder you synced at the root level of Synced folders tab, the local copy of the folder will be deleted from PDF Expert, but the folder in the cloud will be left unchanged. 

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful
Back